First Screening (with Music By Christopher Mayo)

First Screening
for orchestra and film
2(II=picc).2(II=ca).2.2 - - Timp. - 3 Perc. - Hp. - Strings

Computer Poems by bpNichol (1984)
Music by Christopher Mayo (2016)


Performed by the Victoria Symphony conducted by Tania Miller.

Commissioned by the Victoria Symphony with funding from Hugh Davidson.

bpNichol’s work appears courtesy of the estate of bpNichol and is copyrighted by Eleanor Nichol.

The version of the poem used in this piece was captured from the original code by the filmmaker Justin Stephenson. Stephenson’s film, The Complete Works, is an insightful exploration of Nichol’s work which is essential viewing for anyone with an interest in Nichol or poetry in general. More information about The Complete Works can be found at

About First Screening (with Music By Christopher Mayo)

Known Dates

No known dates.

Known Contributors

Christopher Mayo



Genres: Film

Tags: computer poetry

Archived File

Digitized by: gbetts, September 29, 2016

License Holder(s)

The Estate of bpNichol

The bpNichol archive values commentary and feedback from the community. It also encourages creative use bpNichol’s primary works under the terms of the license listed. If you would like to share your knowledge of this item, including information about its creation and rights holders, or would like to inquire as to its use, please use our contact form to get in touch.